Pharoah became horse racing’s 12th Triple Crown winner

Triple Crown horses

American Pharoah got to be stallion hustling’s 12th Triple Crown champ when he took Saturday’s $ 1.5 million Belmont Stakes in wire-to-wire design, turning into the first steed to do as such since Affirmed cleared the Kentucky Derby, the Preakness and the Belmont Stakes in 1978.

“It’s only a stunning thing,” racer Victor Espinoza said. “He’s only a stunning stallion. It’s the best feeling ever when he crossed the wire.”

Triple Crown horses

The win gave Espinoza and mentor Bob Baffert their first Triple Crown after Baffert had been denied three past times.

“I’m extremely enthusiastic considering my guardians,” Baffert said. “I was trusting it would happen. I didn’t know how I’d feel yet now I know. They (my guardians) were with me today. It wasn’t me, it was the stallion.”

American Pharoah returned $ 3.50 to win subsequent to running the mile-and-a-half in 2:26.65.

Triple Crown horses

It was five and a half lengths back to Frosted who got up for second over Keen Ice.

Before American Pharoah’s triumph, 13 steeds since Affirmed had won the Kentucky Derby and the Preakness before coming up short in the Belmont Stakes. I’ll Have Another didn’t even make the race in 2012, scratching a day prior with a tendon harm and was resigned to stud.

American Pharoah joined the positions of Triple Crown champs Sir Barton (1919), Gallant Fox (1930), Omaha (1935), War Admiral (1937), Whirlaway (1941), Count Fleet (1943), Assault (1946), Citation (1948), Secretariat (1973), Seattle Slew (1977) and Affirmed.

The horde of 90,000 — topped to keep away from a year ago’s catastrophe of congestion at 102,199 — thundered as American Pharoah turned for home in front.

1 Photos of the Pharoah became horse racing’s 12th Triple Crown winner

Triple Crown horses

Leave a comment

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.